🧠 Art Vision Pro

The art world meets the AR world

🧠 What’s up readers. BRAINWAVES nĂşmero dos is a go. Today, we got a little less news but a bit more inspiration for your aesthetic-hungry minds. Let’s jump into it shall we?

3D MODELING & ANIMATION

@womp3D via GIPHY

@womp3D via GIPHY

@womp3D via GIPHY

@womp3D via GIPHY

👾 Womp womp. I cannot figure out how to use Blender for the life of me, and I know I’m not the only one struggling with that. Blender is one of the most popular 3D-creation software tools on the market. However, I find myself constantly getting lost no matter which tutorial I read or watch about it. I’m still eager to start modeling things in 3D but I definitely need a simpler program that I could start with to learn the fundamentals before I jump back into Blender.

This is where Womp comes in. According to the talented team behind the website, “Womp is a 3D creation software built by artists and engineers who experienced the uphill learning curve of 3D and set out to build something intuitive and easy to use for anyone”. PERFECT! So, I signed up for the alpha that is currently released and I’ve gotta say, it’s really intuitive.

Not only is this app browser-based, making it universally friendly for most computers, but the entire platform is heavily focused around building a community. It’s incredibly easy for me to discover other artists’ beautiful works and import them into my own project files to use as inspiration. The tools are laid out in simple menus without any of the complex mumbo jumbo that I usually find myself frustrated with when using other 3D-creation software. All of this is making me a lot more ambitious with my ideas surrounding that of 3D modeling and animation.

All I gotta say is that I’m still learning how to truly make something spectacular using Womp, but you’ll all find out when I succeed in that when you see a newsletter using a 3D version of the BRAINWAVES logo at the top.

TECHNOLOGY

Adobe

🕶️ The art world meets the AR world. The impressively futuristic Apple Vision Pro has just released as of a couple of days ago (February 2, 2024) and artists of all realms have wondered what the immersive headset has to offer for their undying desire to create.

Luckily for us, Adobe currently has two of their apps available for the brand new device: Lightroom and Firefly AI. With a newly crafted framework under the hood, Adobe is able to bring their powerful tools into augmented reality. In Lightroom, users are able to edit their favorite photos like in the original app, but now at a much larger scale, making it much easier to catch tiny details that you couldn’t otherwise catch if you were using your grandpa’s old 13” Dell monitor (speaking from experience). On the other hand, users can also cook up artificially generated images using Firefly AI and are able to place their finished products around the room, like on their desks or even on the wall like a framed painting. The Vision Pro’s powerful operating system, visionOS, is what makes all of these features possible.

Even though Apple’s Vision Pro comes with a limited number of apps in its first generation, it’s clear that the combination of AI and AR will likely be a very promising new dimension with tons of room for artistic innovation down the line. This is just the start of the ultimate playground where artists are able to immerse themselves in their own creations and collaborate with others in a real-world space. Now, does anyone have $3,500 I can borrow? Read more.

PRODUCT DESIGN

đź“š How-to-ZINE. Artist Tum Wuthipol Uj (@wuthipol.designs via Instagram) has created a kit of several zine templates for you to choose from when constructing your first ever zine. Uj explains his brilliant handmade creation as such:

Zine Dummy Kit is a guideline to zine-making—created by Tum Wuthipol Uj.—as a way to suggest various approaches to make a zine. Through a hands on experience, it will provide you with a visual understanding of how each zine format is constructed. This zine kit contains 6 playful folding formats, each templated with sequence page numbers. You are encouraged to explore and create a zine that best resonates with your aesthetic of art. The sequence of these pages may be irrelevant to your artwork. I suggest you put your own twist on it, make it unique to your style, and make sure it makes sense with your design. Zine-making is a trial and error experiment—often a mistake becomes a new idea.

Limited quantity available, because this is entirely handmade. Link in bio.

I’ve always wanted to create a zine for fun but didn’t really know where to start. Because zine-making is such an open art form, there are so many examples of different styles and themes that could be considered a zine. However, now that Uj takes care of the mathematical segment of zine-making with his super helpful Zine Dummy Kit, I feel a lot more confident in making a much less difficult or messy first attempt.

VISUAL DESIGN

@dchernyshuk via X

@dchernyshuk via X

@dchernyshuk via X

@dchernyshuk via X

📱 Reminder wallpapers. I don’t know about you, but I change my phone’s wallpaper A LOT. I’m constantly trying to find wallpapers that fit a visual aesthetic that I can constantly look at while also being one that isn’t totally overused.

So, it’s a really good thing that I found these dope ones by Andrew Chernyshuk (@dchernyshuk via X). Chernyshuk is the founder and designer at infiniteshelf.design, a design agency focused on app and web design as well as providing services such as user research and UX consultancy.

A pair of these lovely wallpapers are only $1 per design and can be found on Chernyshuk’s Gumroad page. They’re carefully designed with grid systems in mind, one of Chernyshuk’s more prominent elements his most common projects. They also feature small but impactful statements to remind you of your greater potential whenever you look at your lock screen. I’m definitely copping the Porsche wallpaper. What about you?

SONG OF THE DAY

đź’Ž A true hidden gem. New Jade by Caribou (also known as Dan Snaith) is such a fluid and blissful track, full of wondrous interwoven rhythms and sounds. Like the album cover, this song flows like dancing water droplets, wrapping your head in what feels like a state of mindful focus paired with the determination to accomplish anything and everything. I’d give this a listen right at the start of a design session to maximize creativity.

EXTRA STUFF

🧠 Interesting resources. Just some stuff I discovered, read, watched, and/or listened to this week that I think you may find just as entertaining or useful as I did.

📬 Share this newsletter with your family, friends, and any strangers you meet today! Thank you for reading. Until next time :)